HALL OF FAME: NCHSAA adds class of 2023

Published Wednesday, August 23rd, 2023

HobbsDailyReport.com CARY  — The North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA) has inducted its 2023 Hall of Fame class. The ceremony was held in Cary with a banquet that featured a video of each individual’s career by Newton native Rick Strunk, a former NCHSAA employee. https://www.nchsaa.org/news/2023-8-21/2023-nchsaa-hall-fame-banquet?fbclid=IwAR3V1oduAwGjWegprDmjfzAffrwtbIu967AVWjH8CjBgdR6JJ6vyKV9PAHc

NCHSAA HALL OF FAME: Now includes Spartans’ Anderson

Published Wednesday, August 24th, 2022

HobbsDailyReport.com CARY — Danny Anderson, head boys’ basketball coach at South Caldwell and a 700-game winner, was inducted Saturday to the North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA) Hall of Fame. He is still active and climbing the all-time victory list. His coaching stints include at Madison-Mayodan, Starmount, West Caldwell (two tenures) and Maiden. Anderson is a Gastonia native and …

HIGH SCHOOLS: Breintenstein, Triplett lead Watauga’s first Hall of Fame class

Published Wednesday, September 23rd, 2020

Late Pioneers coaches, female track and field star, local radio broadcaster to also be honored By CHRIS HOBBS HobbsDailyReport.com BOONE – Watauga High’s first Hall of Fame Class includes two of the best to play varsity football for the Pioneers. Eric Breitenstein — a 2008 graduate who is now an assistant football coach at his alma mater — and linebacker …

NEWTON-CONOVER HALL OF FAME: Trio of new members will be added Thursday night

Published Wednesday, May 22nd, 2019

HobbsDailyReport.com NEWTON – Newton-Conover High will add three inductees to its Athletic Hall of Fame on Thursday night at 7 p.m. at the school gym. No tickets are required to attend a ceremony that will honor the Class of 2019 – LaShawn Coulter, John Rabold and the late Linda Richards. LaShawn Coulter A 1990 graduate, he was a three-time all-conference …

COLLEGE: Lenoir-Rhyne will add 5 to Hall of Fame next month

Published Wednesday, September 19th, 2018

HobbsDailyReport.com HICKORY – Lenoir-Rhyne University’s newest Sports Hall of Fame Class will include five inductees. The Bears announced the new class — which will be induced on Oct. 13 on Homecoming Weekend before a football game against Limestone — via a press release. Meredith O’Connor, Scott Walker, Taylor Pugh, Benny Moose and Ben Sheffield will be inducted in a ceremony …