ALL-WESTERN FOOTHILLS 3A: Foard leads selections in girls’ tennis, volleyball

Published Monday, November 8th, 2021


Fred T. Foard gained four top awards in the Western Foothills 3A, including league players of the year in girls’ tennis and volleyball.


After voting by conference head coaches by sport, the All-Western Foothills 3A teams were announced over the weekend, highlighted by state 3A singles champion Alexis Woglemuth of Foard being named tennis player of the year.

In volleyball, Foard’s Martina Foster was voted Player of the Year, teammate Lyndsie Warren earned Defensive Player of the Year and Tigers head coach Meredith Lombardi was selected Coach of the Year.

North Lincoln won the girls’ team tennis title — going 7-0 to finish a match ahead of Hickory — and Foard was fifth in the conference at 3-4.

In coach of the year voting, Diane Phillips of St. Stephens was picked after guiding the Indians (4-9, 2-5) to a sixth-place finish.

North Iredell – which shared the volleyball title with Foard and beat the Tigers in the league tournament final and the West 3A final before falling in the state 3A championship match – was led by Emma Norris, named Offensive Player of the Year in the conference.

Kyla Callahan of East Lincoln was selected Player of the Year in girls’ golf. The Mustangs finished 21 strokes behind league champion North Lincoln with the Knights’ head coach, Brad Mangum, named Coach of the Year.

In girls’ and boys’ cross country, North Lincoln swept the four awards after roiling to conference championships.

The Knights had a score of 20 in the girls’ title meet, finishing 57 ahead of second-place North Iredell, and North Lincoln’s boys had a score of 18 with St. Stephens second (74).

Girls’ Player of the Year in cross country went to North Lincoln’s Bella Wood and the boys’ Player of the Year was Stephen Fernetti of North Lincoln. Both coaching awards went to Jerry Castro of North Lincoln.


(as selected by conference head coaches)


E. Lincoln: Hanna McGuirk, Molly McGuirk

Fred T. Foard: Alexis Woglemuth, Anna Schmidt

Hickory: Nicole Kozischek, Ellie Holtzman, Jonellis Heredia

N. Iredell: Lilly Warren, Elleigh Williams

N. Lincoln: Emma Carver, Meghan Restino, Anna Gore, Madison File

St. Stephens: Brianna Alfaro

Statesville: Chloe Hoyle

W. Iredell: Madison Forsack

POY: Woglemuth, Foard

COY: Dianne Phillips, St. Stephens


E. Lincoln: Katie Cook, Kendall Fisher


Fred T. Foard: Martina Foster, Haley Johnston, Lyndsie Warren, Averie Dale, Sarah Lingle, Laney Craig

Hickory: Taylor Rose, Samantha Gambill

N. Iredell: Emma Norris, Madeline Sigmon, Aliena Mykins, Tilley Collins, Skylar Bolin

N. Lincoln: Megan Mowery, Sydney Hudson

St. Stephens: Kadence Ramseyer, Olivia Eckard

Statesville: Kaylee Greer

W. Iredell: Addison Gallyon, Kealy West

POY: Foster, Fred T. Foard

OFFENSIVE POY: Norris, N. Iredell

DEFENSIVE POY: Warren, Fred T. Foard

COY: Meredith Lombardi, Fred T. Foard


E. Lincoln: Kyla Callahan, Hannah Merhrmann, Aspen Greene

Fred T. Foard: Chloe DeLeon


Hickory: Lillian Bowman, Claire Graham, Caroline Peters

N. Iredell: Sydney Bradford, Tatum Bradford

N. Lincoln: Adeline Todd, Reagann Smith, Hailey Klein

St. Stephens: Christa Swanner

Statesville: Grace Vanpatten

W. Iredell: Kennedy Gaulding

POY: Callahan, E. Lincoln

COY: Brad Mangum, N. Lincoln


E. Lincoln: Macy Parks, Berklie Greene

Hickory: Lauren Lyerly

N. Iredell: Natlia Neito

N. Lincoln: Bella Wood, Kelbi Pierce, Cara Castro, Emily Laramie, Lori Glavan, Bella Green, Sienna Rush

St. Stephens: Eva Croin, Daniel Flores Gutierrez, Addison Cox

Statesville: Karli Townsell

POY: Wood, N. Lincoln

COY: Jerry Castro, N. Lincoln

Note: West Iredell did not field girls’ cross country


E. Lincoln: None

Fred T. Foard: Will Elkins, Nathanael Hughes

Hickory: None

N. Iredell: Maddox Gant, Noah Whitenmyer

N. Lincoln: Stephen Fernetti, Phillip Riddle, Mirko Glavan, Alex Bradley, Logan Helms, Mack Viverette, Connor Bagwell, Kolton Hodges

St. Stephens: Payce Sherrill, Jackson Black

Statesville: None

W. Iredell: Austin Cope

POY: Fernetti, N. Lincoln

COY: Jerry Castro, N. Lincoln


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *