ALL-SOUTH FORK 2A SOFTBALL: Maiden leads, sweeps top 3 awards

Maiden High leads All-South Fork 2A selections with five players and the conference’s top player on offense, defense and the top coach.

In voting by conference head coaches released by conference officials on Wednesday, the Blue Devils’ LaShayla Thompson was named Offensive Player of the Year, teammate Morgan Bohemier earned Defensive Player of the Year and their coach, Hugh McCall, won Coach of the Year.

Maiden and North Lincoln shared the South Fork 2A regular-season title, each going 12-2, and the Blue Devils got the top seed for the league tournament because they swept the Knights.

North Lincoln nipped Maiden 5-4 to win the conference tournament title.

Maiden finished 20-4, falling in the second round of the state 2A playoffs 11-2 to visiting Bunker Hill.

The Blue Devils had five all-league players and North Lincoln had five.


(as voted on by conference head coaches)

Offensive POY: LaShayla Thompson, Maiden

Defensive POY: Morgan Boheimer, Maiden

Coach of the Year: Hugh McCall, Maiden


Bandys: Shi Pope, Ashton Hopson

E. Lincoln: Faith Cooke, Katelynn Crowe, Kylie Three, Payton Baker

Lake Norman Charter: Jenna Carter

Lincolnton: Alexis Shires

Maiden: Thompson, Boheimer, Taylor Beard, Caitlyn Wray, Grace Herman

Newton-Conover: Kaylee Kanipe, Maddie Carpenter

N. Lincoln: McKayla Watts, Mia Duvall, Brooklyn Harris, Haley Patrick, Aidyn Cada

W. Lincoln: Carson Warlick, Jessica Adams, Addie May

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *