HIGH SCHOOL VOLLEYBALL: Regular season champ Foard adds tourney title in Northwestern Foothills 2A

Published Thursday, October 24th, 2019


NEWTON – Fred T. Foard High swept Patton 25-15, 25-9, 25-20 on Wednesday night at Foard, completing going unbeaten against all Northwestern Foothills 2A foes with a league tournament championship.

Dara Shaffer of Foard was named the tournament MVP.

The top-seeded Tigers, 14-0 in the regular season, are 17-0 against the other seven teams in the conference this season. They are now 26-1 overall.

Patton, which finished second in the regular season, fell to 20-6.

The league announced its all-tournament team and two top awards (voted on by conference head coaches) at the title match with Patton’s Ella Gragg named Player of the Year and her coach, Cindy Powell, winning Coach of the Year.

The all-league team will be announced after the last Northwestern Foothills 2A team in the state playoffs is eliminated.


Bunker Hill: Bailee Hamlett

Draughn: Maddie Nelson

East Burke: Riley Haas

Fred T. Foard: Megan Dorsey, Michelle Thao, Dara Shaffer (MVP).

Hibriten: Danielle Muni

Patton: Ella Gragg, Ashlyn Castle

West Caldwell: Cambria Crisp

West Iredell: Addison Gallyon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *