NCHSAA AWARDS: Maiden’s Propst wins Bradshaw regional scholarship

CHAPEL HILL – Maiden High’s Elena Propst is one of a dozen student-athletes who have won Willie Bradshaw Memorial Endowed scholarships from the North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA).

The winners were announced Thursday by the NCHSAA.

Propst carries a 4.70 weighted GPA into her final semester of her senior year, a press release from the NCHSAA said. She has played soccer and basketball for four years at Maiden, earning all-conference three times in soccer and conference Offensive Player of the Year and All-Region as a junior.

Propst is a member of the Junior BETA Club, HOSA Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes and attended North Carolina Girls State.

She plans to attend Carson-Newman in the fall and to major in Pre-Medicine.

Each scholarship has a $750 value and is given annually to an outstanding African American, American Indian/Alaska Native and/or Asian Pacific Islander American or Hispanic American student-athlete participating on a sanctioned varsity team at an NCHSAA member school.

The scholarships after named after the late Bradshaw, a Durham native who was inducted into the NCHSAA Hall of Fame in 1995 and the National High School Hall of Fame in 2010.

He was an outstanding athlete at Durham Hillside, playing on the undefeated 1943 football team that went untied and unscored upon.

Bradshaw went on to North Carolina College (now NC Central University) and then on to pitch professionally for several Negro League teams. He became the first African-American city or county athletic director when he took over for the Durham City School system until his retirement in 1992.

The NCHSAA will select one male and one female from the regional winners as state recipients. They will receive an additional $1,000 scholarship, and the winners will be announced on next Thursday at the NCHSAA’s Annual Meeting.


Region 1 – Shandronique Jackson, Edenton Holmes

Region 2 – Krystal Martinez, Hobbton

Region 3 – Benjamin Anstead, Durham Riverside

Region 3 – Jordan Gary, Southeast Raleigh

Region 4 – Nsaia Rogers, Whiteville

Region 5 – Giovanni Santibanez-Mendoza, Greensboro Page

Region 5 – Jose Romero, East Davidson

Region 5 – Khali Maxfield-Davis, North Davidson

Region 6 – Bryanna Foster, A.L. Brown

Region 6 – Siamani Olomua, Concord

Region 7 – Elena Propst, Maiden

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *