HS FOOTBALL 2018: Blue Devils have most 10-win seasons since 1980

Published Thursday, July 5th, 2018

HobbsDailyReport.com is a free sports website with a focus on providing timely reporting and exposure for local schools, college and high school, and student-athletes in an eight-county area of Alexander, Burke, Catawba, Caldwell, Lincoln, McDowell, Iredell and Watauga.
If you’d like to consider advertising on our site — or helping with donations to help us with our mission – please contact us at hobbsdailyreport@gmail.com for information about ads and/or where to mail your check to support our journalism.
As you know, the landscape for local sports reporting has changed drastically since early 2017… and HobbsDailyReport is a new avenue and option for the fans of sports in the Greater Hickory area that have been following local news for so many years.
Chris Hobbs is the only reporter/editor who has been with you for all these seasons – year No. 44 is just five or so weeks away – and, at age 60, determined to stay active through at least 2020 in order to reach having reported on the area in six different decades (1970s, 80s, 90s, 00s, 10s and 20s).


HobbsDailyReport.com will periodically post statistics and other items as fans begin to prepare for the high school football season in the South Fork 2A, Northwestern Foothills 2A and Northwestern 3A-4A, compiled from our vast record-keeping that began in the late 1970s.

Much of the information will be things you can only get at our FREE website, because no other media outlet in the Greater Hickory area (or really anywhere) – print or otherwise – has the ability to research like we do.

All of the information is copyrighted by HobbsDailyReport.com and can’t be re-published, reproduced or used without expressed permission – verbal or otherwise – from HobbsDailyReport.com owner Chris Hobbs. To seek that permission, email Hobbs at hobbsdailyreport@gmail.com and provide a contact phone number in your request.


(South Fork 2A, Northwestern Foothills 2A, Northwestern 3A-4A)

School                                                       10-win years                                Most wins

Maiden                                                           18                                                       14 in 1992, 2004

Newton-Conover                                      13                                                       15 in 2008

Lincolnton                                                     12                                                        14 in 2005, 2010, 2011

Bandys                                                           11                                                         14 in 1996, 1997, 2002

Freedom                                                         10                                                       12 in 2012

Hibriten                                                          9                                                         16 in 2017

E. Lincoln                                                       8                                                         16 in 2014

Hickory                                                            6                                                        16 in 1996

E. Burke                                                           4                                                         12 in 2007

S. Caldwell                                                       4                                                         12 in 2012

W. Caldwell                                                     4                                                          12 in 1987

Alexander Central                                      3                                                          11 in 1983

Watauga                                                          3                                                          12 in 2006

W. Iredell                                                         2                                                           11 in 1986

Bunker Hill                                                      1                                                           11 in 1987

Fred T. Foard                                                   1                                                          10 in 1982

N. Lincoln                                                         1                                                          10 in 2007

Draughn                                                           0                                                                  —

Lake Norman Charter                               0                                                                  —

McDowell                                                         0                                                                   —

Patton                                                                0                                                                   —

St. Stephens                                                   0                                                                   —

W. Lincoln                                                        0                                                                   —

SOURCE: HobbsDailyReport.com research and files.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.