HIGH SCHOOL BOYS SOCCER: All-Northwestern Foothills 2A led by West champ Hibriten

Published Monday, March 29th, 2021

                                       Conf.            All
Hibriten                         14-0-0          18-1-0
Foard                              11-2-0           13-3-0
Bunker Hill                     7-6-1             7-6-1
Patton                              6-7-1             6-7-1
W. Caldwell                     5-6-1             5-6-1
E. Burke                           5-7-2             5-7-2
W. Iredell                         1-10-1            1-10-1
Draughn                           0-11-0           0-11-0



Hibriten High, the West 2A champion in boys’ soccer this season, won three key awards in voting by head coaches in the Northwestern Foothills 2A.

The Panthers went 14-0-0 in the conference under head coach Jim Blanton was the West No. 1 seed for the state playoffs.

Hibriten beat No. 16 Smoky Mountain, No. 8 Hendersonville, No. 5 East Lincoln and No. 7 Ledford to win the West.

No. 10 East seed Croatan nipped Hibriten 4-1 on Saturday in the state 2A title match in Cary, leaving the Panthers at 18-1-0 this season.

David Franquis of Hibriten won Overall Player of the Year in the league and teammate Kevin Riveria won Offensive Player of the Year.

Conner Mieja, who sparked Bunker Hill (7-6-1) to a third-place finish behind Hibriten and Fred T. Foard, was named Defensive Player of the Year.

The Panthers led all-conference with seven selections, Bunker Hill had five and Fred T. Foard had four.


(as selected by conference head coaches)

Bunker Hill: Diego Paz, Conner Mejia, Saul Rodriguez, Lawson Yang, Alden Viila.

Draughn: Tino Fernando.

East Burke: Josh Aguirre, Chimoua Yang.

Fred T. Foard: Irvin Martinez-Villa, Carlos Erazo Rojo, Erik Leal, Jacob Faherty.

Hibriten: David Franquiz, Kevin Rios-Rivera, Gerardo Rodriguez, Simon Hawkins, Allen Meza, Mack Waters, Zach Young.

Patton: Luis Batz, Vance Jones, Jacob Hammons.

West Caldwell: Fracesco Gonzales, Karim Aguilar, Brian Silva.

West Iredell: Felipe Nunez, Josue Rodriguez.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.