COLLEGE FOOTBALL: Bears duo on first-team preseason all-league defense

Published Friday, August 3rd, 2018


ROCK HILL, S.C. – Carson-Newman leads the preseason All-South Atlantic Conference (All-SAC) selections announced on Thursday with nine, while Lenoir-Rhyne University has two first-teamers on defense.


The Eagles — named on Wednesday as the favorite to win the conference title this season in a vote by league head coaches — have five selections on offense and four on defense in picks made by media relations staffs at SAC member schools.

LRU did not have a first-teamer on offense, and its defensive picks are junior linebacker Sherrod Williams ( of

Edison, Ga. and junior defensive back Kyle Dugger ( of Fayetteville, Ga.

The Bears have three offensive players on the second-team and one on defense.

On offense, LRU wide receivers Saaehim Brooks (junior from Hanahan, S.C.) and Jaquay Mitchell (junior from Bailey) and lineman Jalen Soto (senior from Vacaville, Calif.) were selected. The Bears’ defensive pick on second-team is junior linebacker Clayton Horn from Mount Pleasant, N.C.

LRU opens its first season under head coach Drew Cronic on Aug. 30 at West Alabama.


(at voted on by conference media relations directors)


QB – Derrick Evans, Carson-Newman
RB – Antonio Wimbush, Carson-Newman
RB – Kenyatta Greene, Catawba
RB – Jerko’ya Patton, Limestone
WR – Markell Castle, Newberry
WR – BJ Muckelvene, Wingate
WR – Craig Rucker, Mars Hill
OL –  Phil McDowell, Carson-Newman
OL –  Quinzavious Sands, Catawba
OL –  Brandon Berridge, Mars Hill
OL –  Jordan Seal, Carson-Newman
OL –  Connor Baroniunas, Wingate
TE –  Jourdan Osinskie, Catawba
PK –  Lee Brackman, Catawba
LS –  Dawson Campbell, Carson-Newman
RS –  BJ Muckelvene, Wingate


DL –  Montel Presley, Carson-Newman
DL –  Jamarcus Henderson, Newberry
DL –  Keito Jordan, Newberry
DL –  Auntrell Mack, Wingate
LB –  Sherrod Williams, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB –  Robbie Wallace, Wingate
LB –  Joe Blue, Newberry
LB –  Antonio Henderson, Carson-Newman
DB – Darius Williams, Carson-Newman
DB – Desmond Fairell, Carson-Newman
DB – Cris Page, Catawba
DB – Kyle Dugger, Lenoir-Rhyne
P –    Christopher Birozes, Wingate


QB –  Alex Ogle, Tusculum
RB –  Maxwell Joseph, Tusculum
RB –  Austin Barnes, Newberry
RB –  Marcus Williams, Carson-Newman
WR – JT Stokes, Wingate
WR – Saaehim Brooks, Lenoir-Rhyne
WR – Jaquay Mitchell, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL –  Jalen Soto, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL –  Tyler Anderson, Newberry
OL –  Keveon Broadwater, Tusculum
OL –  Cody Meree, Limestone
OL –  Austin May, Wingate
TE –  Gary Breuklander, Tusculum
PK –  Shea Rodgers, Newberry
LS –  Tucker Mullis, Wingate
RS –  Jay Boyd, Tusculum


DL –  Brian Bembry, Carson-Newman
DL –  Omar Staley, Catawba
DL –  Jordan Hemingway, Catawba
DL –  Kelvin Atkins, Limestone
DL –  Cardell Rawlings, Wingate
LB –  Ivan Hogans, Tusculum
LB –  Anfernee Moffett, Newberry
LB –  Temoris Coats, Carson-Newman
LB –  Clayton Horn, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Jawanza Adams, Newberry
DB – Dee Alford, Tusculum
DB – Kam Johnson, Wingate
DB – Joshua Simmons, Limestone
DB – Jay Boyd, Tusculum
P –    Caleb Berry, Catawba


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *