HIGH SCHOOL BASKETBALL: East Lincoln leads All-Western Foothills 3A teams

East Lincoln’s Jason Otey, named co-coach of the year in girls’ basketball in the Western Foothills 3A this season, talks with his team during a timeout./EAST LINCOLN PHOTO

St. Stephens’ Bennett shares girls’ coaching

award with head coach of Mustangs


Madison Self led East Lncoln’s girls to 28 wins and a Western Foothills 3A title this season. She has been named the conference’s Player of the Year./EAST LINCOLN PHOTO



East Lincoln High, after posting 51 varsity wins, swept the top awards in Western Foothills 3A basketball this season.

In voting of conference head coaches, the Mustangs produced the girls’ and boys’ player of the year and the coaches of the year.

Junior Madison Self was named girls’ player of the year after sparking East Lincoln (28-2) to a league title. She averaged 12.3 points, 10.9 rebounds and 2.5 assists and shot 53 percent as the Mustang went unbeaten (14-0) in conference play.

Senior Drew Bean won boys’ player of the year, leading the Mustangs to a second-place finish that included beat league champion Hickory. He averaged 15.7 points, 5.3 rebounds and 2.4 assists while shooting 53 percent overall and 37 percent from 3-point range for a 23-6 team.

The Western Foothills 3A head basketball coaches have selected East Lincoln star Drew Bean as the league’s Player of the Year./EAST LINCOLN PHOTO

East Lincoln girls’ coach Jason Otey shared the coaching award with Andy Bennett of St. Stephens after the Indians went 9-5 in the conference to finish in third place and 16-11 overall.

East Lincoln ‘s only loss in its first 11 games was at Ashbrook and that game was later forfeited to the Mustangs. After a loss to Cox Mill, the Mustangs ran off 17 straight wins until falling at North Davidson in the third round of the state 3A playoffs.

Otey is 122-98 in nine seasons as head coach at East Lincoln.

Jon Hancock of East Lincoln was boys’ coach of the year. He guided the Mustangs to a 9-0 start. They also had a nine-game win streak after back-to-back losses to Southlake Christian an Lake Norman.

East Lincoln’s boys were eliminated in the second of the state 3A playoffs by Enka.

The Mustangs’ year included beating league champion Hickory 50-47 on Dec. 10 at Hickory to start the league schedule.

Unofficially, Hancock is 112-24 in five seasons as East Lincoln head coach and 436-259 during his career.



Ginny Overbay, E. Lincoln

Hailey McFadden, E. Lincoln

Taliyah Thomas, E. Lincoln

Madison Self, E. Lincoln (POY)

Gariela Greenard, Hickory

Joseline Turner, Hickory

Molli Harris, St. Stephens

Allie Reid, St. Stephens

Alexis Woglemuth, Fred T. Foard

Skylin Guill, N. Iredell

Nakayal White-Conner, Statesville

Julia Frantz, N. Lincoln

Brooklyn Gibson, W. Iredell

Coach of the Year: Jason Otey, E. Lincoln & Andy Bennett, St. Stephens


Drew Bean, E. Lincoln (POY)

Jeremiah Jones, E. Lincoln

Keandre Walker, E. Lincoln

Jayden Maddox, Hickory

Jamien Little, Hickory

Landan Maddox, Hickory

Ji Ikard, St. Stephens

Sam Hepler, Fred T. Foard

Jackson Hawkins, N. Iredell

John Jackson, N. Iredell

Messiah Robinson, Statesville

Jack Waggoner, N. Lincoln

Jermaine Cornelius, W. Iredell

Coach of the Year: Jon Hancock, E. Lincoln

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *