ALL-NORTHWESTERN FOOTHILLS 2A: Foard sweeps all 3 softball awards

Fred T. Foard High has swept the awards for this season’s Northwestern Foothills 2A softball.

In voting by conference head coaches and via a press release, league officials said the Tigers’ Abby Settlemyre is the conference’s Player of the Year, teammate Adison Yoder is conference Pitcher of the Year, and the top head coach in the league is Foard’s Roland Wright.

Foard won the Northwestern Foothills 2A regular-season title, going 11-1, and is 19-3 heading into Wednesday’s third-round 2A state playoff at Foard (6 p.m.) against sixth-seeded Madison (20-0).

The Tigers led All-Northwestern 2A picks with seven.


Carrington Chapman of regular-season champion Bunker Hill was named Player of the Year and his coach, Marty Curtis, won Coach of the Year.

The league’s pitcher of the year is Tripp Causby of Patton, which tied East Burke and West Iredell for fourth place.

Bunker Hill led the all-conference selections with five after going 10-2 in the league and finishing 19-6 overall after a first-round state 2A playoff loss to Hibriten.


Will Gessner of conferce champion Patton was named the Golf of the Year while the Coach of the Year is Kenny Pressley, who led Draughn to a second place finish.

Draughn, Patton and third-place Hibriten qualified for the regionals as teams and individual qualifiers were Jordan Sain and Ben Busic of Fred T. Foard and Tyler Messick and Justin Dagenhart of West Iredell.


Foard, after going 6-0 in the league and 9-2 overall, won Player of the Year (Eli Mathews) and the Tigers’ Ryan Gettys won Coach of the Year.

Foard had five all-league players.



Player of the Year: Abby Settlemyre, Foard

Pitcher of the Year: Adison Yoder, Foard

Coach of the Year: Roland Wright, Foard


Bunker Hill: Payton Bryant, Kailey Travis, Payton Goble, Syndie Ammons

Draughn: Nataleigh Lail, Kira Suttles, Nikki Smith, Chloe Gary

East Burke: Chely Mull

Foard: Settlemyre, Yoder, Morgan Loftin, Morgan Smith, Emily Campbell, Madison Rowe, Ashyln Wright

Hibriten: Kyndell Warren, Davis Walker, Malea Prestwood, Zoe Waters

Patton: Makaley Lovelace, Kaylee Redwine

W. Iredell: Leanna Sherrill, Katelyn McClure


Player of the Year: Carrington Chapman, Bunker Hill

Pitcher of the Year: Tripp Causby, Patton

Coach of the Year: Marty Curtis, Bunker Hill


Bunker Hill: Chapman, Garrett Poovey, Thaxton Isenhour, Eli Moser, Chance Carden

Draughn: Nathan Treadway

East Burke: Greyson Williams, Hunter Lewis, Grant Fulbright

Foard: Tate Beaver, Dalton Lutz, Hayden Lail, Jeremiah Wike

Hibriten: Noah Haney, Tevin Williams, Jack Stevens, Luke Absher

Patton: Tripp Causby, Ty Causby, Drew Goforth, Gabe Eggers

W. Iredell: Brandon Gregory, John Payne, Nick Ward


Player of the Year: Will Gessner, Patton

Coach of the Year: Kenny Pressley, Draughn

All-conference, based on finish: Will Gessner (Patton); Jordan Sain (Foard); C.J. Edwards (Patton); Tanner Tucker (Hibriten); Ben Leonard (Draughn); Carson Witherspoon (Patton); Dillon Robinson (Draughn); Zeke Sigmon (Draughn); Riley Avery (Patton); Carson Ashley (Draughn); Ben Busic (Foard); Travis Watson (Patton).


Player of the Year: Eli Mathews, Foard

Coach of the Year: Ryan Gettys, Foard


Bunker Hill: Gavin Boyles, Cheng Moua

Draughn: Cheng Vue

E. Burke: Ethan Hallyburton, Chase Smith, Luke Parson

Foard: Mathews, Holden Aldridge, Carter Greene, Luke Fountain, Josiah Underwood

Hibriten: Ben Spears, Cameron Pennell

Patton: Charlie Gessner, Patton

West Iredell: Adams Sherrill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *